The Malaysian flag or Jalur Gemilang consists of 14 horizontal red and white stripes of equal width; a dark blue canton occupying the upper left quarter of the flag; and within the canton, a crescent, and a 14-pointed star.

The stripes represent the equal status in the federation of the 13 member states - namely Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, Penang and Terengganu - and the Federal Government, as represented by the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur and Labuan.

Malaysia Boleh!

The phenomenal growth of Malaysia under the leadership of its fourth prime minister Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad has brought about a patriotic sense of achievement amongst its people.
The Government has led the way to show that Malaysians can excel in whatever they put their minds to, and this, in no small way, has produced a society that tries to outdo itself (sometimes at ridiculous levels, if truth be told) in the endeavours it pursues. Embodying this spirit is the slogan "Malaysia Boleh!" which loosely translated means "Malaysia Can Do It!" How this slogan came to be the "battle cry" of a nation is rather sketchy but the general belief is that it was the slogan used by a health beverage in its marketing campaign in the 80s.

It caught on and soon cries of Malaysia Boleh! were heard, first only at sporting events like the Commonwealth Games and Thomas Cup Finals, then later everywhere else as it was embraced wholeheartedly by the people as a means to push themselves to endure and accept challenge, to set targets, to excel. The "Malaysia Boleh!" spirit has since produced many achievers and achievements, and has been a cornerstone of the success story that is the new Malaysia.


C-Right 2014 by Langkawi Gazette

Langkawi - short development history

Pirates could move from islet to islet without being detected, and once on land, the lush tropical jungles would no doubt protect them from prying eyes and the long arm of the law. In a sense, Langkawi seems to have experienced a complete reversal in its fortunes - it is today an extremely popular holiday retreat amongst wealthy tourists. This is very evident in the fact that the newest area being developed, Datai Bay, or Teluk Datai to locals, and Tanjung Rhu, caters to every comfort that the rich and affluent could wish for in a holiday - luxury amidst nature. Visitors to Langkawi may be caught off-guard by its rusticity and slow pace of life. Most of its inhabitants still retain their traditional ways of living - going to sea and reaping their hard-earned harvest from the ground.

Bunga Raya - Malaysia`s Hibiscus

There are many varieties of the hibiscus, but the five-petaled Hibiscus rosa sinensis was chosen above the others, as the most symbolically relevant. The five petals of the bunga raya symbolise the Rukunegara (the Five Principles of Nationhood), while the colour red represents courage.
It is believed that the flower first arrived in Malaysia via trade from its original home in the Far East sometime before the 12th century.

The national flower, bunga raya, is known for its medicinal properties. The roots of the plant are used as a cure for fever and other ailments, while the juice obtained from the leaves and roots is said to be effective in relieving skin eruptions and glandular troubles. Also, the petals were commonly used as cosmetics to darken and highlight women's eyebrows.


C-Right 2014 by Langkawi Gazette

Langkawi A Mystical Paradise

Langkawi is a feast for the eyes and the soul. The first glimpse of the island from air reveals a tranquil hideaway with shimmering azure waters, sun kissed beaches and swaying casuarinas trees. It is a sight that beckons with the promise of a private haven away from everyday life.
Langkawi is actually the name given to a group of emerald islands (l04 during low tide, and 99 during high tide) studded across the Andaman Sea. Located in the northernmost tip of the Malaysian peninsular - just south of the Thai border - the islands are part of the state of Kedah.